Southbury Teen Review Blog

Books, music, movies, and more!

Lark April 17, 2013

Filed under: Books — Heather @ 2:07 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Lark by Tracey Porter

LarkLark Austin was murdered.  She was brutally attacked and left tied to a tree, left to die from exposure in the frozen Virginia forest.  This story is not really about Lark, but more about two of her former friends.  Eve used to be close with Lark, sharing a love of swimming until events made her quit.  Plagued by guilt, Eve wonders what might have been if she had been there for Lark.  Nyetta is also plagued by the ghost of Lark, her former babysitter.  Unable to rest in peace, Lark’s spirit is rooted to the tree she died under.

As her memory fades and her killer goes unpunished, Lark transforms into the tree.  She is surrounded by the souls of others that have met similar fates, all trapped in their wooden coffins.  Unable to come to terms with what she is experiencing, Nyetta reaches out to Eve.  Together they acknowledge what has happened to their friend to set her soul free.

A quick, compelling read, Lark really makes an impact.  I read the whole book in one sitting, quickly propelling myself towards the satisfying conclusion.  A must for fans of Alice Sebold’s The Lovely Bones or Katie Williams’s The Space Between Trees.

Advertisements